

Minutes of the 2019 Annual General Meeting of the Edinburgh Branch of the British Computer Society held at Edinburgh University Informatics Forum, Crichton Place, Edinburgh EH8 9AB on Wednesday 2 October 2019 at 6:15 pm.

1 APOLOGIES

Kevin Chalmers, Margus Lind, Roger Whiteley, Seb Rose, Olusegun Akintola, Thomas Presslie

2 MINUTES OF THE 2018 AGM HELD ON 4 OCTOBER 2018

The minutes of the previous AGM were accepted as a true record of the proceedings.

Proposed: Kevin Fisher Seconded: Paul Rattray

3 MATTERS ARISING

There were no matters arising.

4 CHAIRMAN'S REPORT FOR 2017-2018

Paul Rattray, the outgoing Chair of the Edinburgh Branch, presented his overview report for the year just ended, 2018/2019. The full contents of his report are attached to these minutes.

5 TREASURER'S REPORT

Mike Hurst, the outgoing Honorary Treasurer of the Edinburgh Branch, presented his overview report for the year just ended, 2018/2019. The full contents of his report may be accessed on the Branch website.

The Treasurer's Report was accepted as a true record of the Branch financial position.

Proposed: Lee Parry Seconded: Zsolt Husz

6 ELECTION OF BRANCH OFFICERS FOR 2019 / 2020

Kevin Fisher – retiring Branch Honorary Secretary – reminded the Meeting of the rules governing the election of Branch Officers.

The three office bearers (Chairman, Honorary Treasurer and Inclusion Officer) are required to stand down and may seek re-election. The following Proposers and Seconders were received:

- Chairman: Paul Rattray. Proposed Lee Parry, Seconded lain Thompson.
- Treasurer: Mike Hurst. Proposed Zsolt Husz, Seconded Allan Davidson.
- Inclusion: Paul Rattray. Proposed Allan Davidson, Seconded Shufan Yang.

There were no other nominations or objections from the floor and the Officers were duly elected nem con.

7 ELECTION OF BRANCH COMMITTEE MEMBERS FOR 2019 / 2020

Kevin Fisher reminded the Meeting of the rules governing the election of Branch Committee Members.

BCS Branch regulations require that:

- Committee Members may stand for election for one year and will be eligible for re-election.
- All elections to the Committee shall be held at the AGM.
- The Committee may co-opt further members, but all those co-opted during the year must stand down and seek re-election.

According to the above rules the following have agreed to election / re-election to join the Committee

- Allan Davidson
- Kevin Fisher
- Mike Hurst
- Olusegun Akintola
- Zsolt Husz
- Margus Lind
- Lee Parry
- Thomas Presslie
- Seb Rose
- Iain Thompson
- Shufan Young

It was agreed that these nominations be treated as a group and elected as such.

Proposed: Anne Kay. Seconded: C Brodie Smith.

A new Member of Committee - Anne Kay - was proposed for election.

Proposed: Kevin Fisher Seconded: Paul Rattray

There were no other nominations or objections from the floor and the above named were duly elected nem con.

8 AOB

There being no further business, the Meeting closed at 6.30pm.

Total attendance at the Annual General Meeting (Members and non-Members) = 45

Minutes taken by Allan Davidson – Edinburgh Branch Committee Member.. Wednesday 2 October 2019.

Approved......Paul Rattray - Chairman